Dennis Sanders accepts the Rotarian of the Year award from outgoing president Dr. Emily McIntosh. (CONTRIBUTED)
Dennis Sanders accepts the Rotarian of the Year award from outgoing president Dr. Emily McIntosh. (CONTRIBUTED)

Archived Story

McMicken, Sanders receive top annual awards with Rotary

Published 1:23pm Tuesday, June 18, 2013

MADISON – At its annual awards dinner, Rotary Club of Madison installed new officers and presented awards for outstanding service — the club’s primary objective.

Outgoing president Dr. Emily McIntosh presided at the event held at the Best Western-Plus on June 13. The gathering recognized community supporters, reviewed yearly accomplishments and engendered the “Family of Rotary” atmosphere.

Dennis Sanders was named Rotarian of the Year. A member since 2005, he served as president in 2010-2011 and has worked with the EcoStove humanitarian project in Honduras since its inception in 2007. Sanders now serves as membership director and communications officer for District 6860 (North Alabama).

Tim McMicken received the Avenues of Citation Award, commending Rotary’s five priorities for club, vocational, community, international and new generations. McMicken has served on the grants and quarter master committees and assisted the Interact Club at James Clemens and Bob Jones high schools. He also worked on the EcoStoves project.

Art Shaw tops longevity with perfect attendance at 14 years.

Incoming President Steve Baum spoke on the club’s 2013-2014 theme, “Engage Rotary, Change Lives.” He described how the EcoStove project “challenged all of us … to take our Rotary friendships to the next level and go beyond the one-hour Thursday meetings.”

“I have a Honduras connection with Carolina Tercero and her nieces, Andrea and Yasseli,” Baum said. “Carolina coordinates our work in Honduras and is interpreter. I look forward to seeing them every year –sharing and learning from them.”

In upcoming months, the Madison club has 11 service projects planned, expects another district grant and will launch its two-year Honduras Future Vision grant, Baum said. Locally, Rotarians will continue to assist Interact Clubs and Triana Boys & Girls Club.

District Governor Tom Greene installed officers.

Along with Baum and McIntosh, the board includes president-elect Steve Croomes, president nominee Gene Pfeiffer, secretary Art Shaw, treasurer Paula Cushman, sergeant-at-arms Jim Faw; and service directors David Perkins (club), Fred Davey (community), Larry Becker (international), Sandy Patel (youth) and Toni Johnson (vocational).

Editor's Picks